Books with names in their titles banner

Top Ten Tuesday:  Books with Names/Character Names In the Titles 

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together. Each week, a topic is provided and you are free to give it your own spin on the topic to make it work for you!

This week’s TTT is quite an interesting one; books with names in their titles!! There are soooo many books that fit into this prompt, some are quite popular and others not as much.

Let’s start, shall we?!

P.S. This list includes both books I read and books I still have to.

Double P.S. Clicking on the cover will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.


Harry Potter (series)

This is quite an obvious one (for me at least). One of my favorites since childhood!!

If you haven’t read it yet, I recommend that you do–if you’re a fan of fantasy, magic, and awesome creatures and spells.

Amari and the Night Brothers

This one is one of my favorite 2020 reads that I would absolutely love to reread!! It is a wonderfully written story with cozy magical vibes.

You can read more about it on my review here.

P.S. While writing this, I checked on Goodreads and THE SEQUEL IS THERE!!!!!!!! KLNSVDIUYFUQBDWV THIS IS EXCITING!!!

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

I haven’t read this one yet but it is on the top of my TBR. All I know about it is that it’s quite beautiful and people have apparently reread it a LOT of times–which is making me nervous, ’cause what if I don’t like it??!!!

From what I gathered, it’s about a Hollywood movie icon named–you guessed it right!–Evelyn Hugo. She chooses Monique, an unknown magazine reporter, to tell her story.

It would seem that there’s something that might connect Evelyn and Monique–this is just my guess though.

The Invisible Life of Addie Larue

This is also a book that I haven’t read yet. In fact, I haven’t read any of V.E. Schwabs books yet and I’m still debating which one to start with… Any recommendations??

Layla

I’ve read Layla last year and I sadly didn’t like it as much as I thought I would.

You can read my thoughts on it here. Basically, it’s about Layla and Leeds who are struggling after Layla was attacked by Leeds‘ ex. Thinking it might help Layla‘s case, Leeds takes them to the B&B where they first met. Layla only gets weirder, and Leeds starts spending more time with Willow, another guest in the B&B.

Verity

Verity is another one of Colleen Hoover‘s books I’ve managed to read. It’s about Lowen Ashleigh who is on the verge of a financial crisis when she’s presented by an opportunity of a lifetime; she’s to complete writing the remaining of a popular series written by the famous Verity–because she’ s injured and unable to.

While going to Verity and Jeremy‘s–Verity’s husband–house, she discovers a manuscript containing Verity‘s autobiography, which she–Verity–wasn’t thinking about showing to anyone. This manuscript contains some very disturbing facts. As they (Lowen and Jeremy) gets closer, Lowen sees that sharing those secrets would help them get together.

I personally didn’t like it that much, I felt like the second half was quite rushed. It is quite interesting, but it didn’t wow me. If you decide to read it, be sure to check the trigger warnings

Circe

I’ve been meaning to read this since it first came out, and I think I’ll finally get to it this month–because I finally got the physical copy and I CAN’T WAIT TO DIVE RIGHT IN!! LCWSWJAIOJWKMA

It’s about Circe, the daughter of Helios (God of the sun and one powerful Titan). She doesn’t have such any “interesting” powers like her parents so she’s ignored and neglected. But when her powers prove to be a threat, she’s banished to the island of Aiaia where she meet Odysseus (not immediately) and I guess they fall in love?!

If you’re a fan of Greek mythology, you should definitely check it out!

Percy Jackson and the Olympians (series)

Another one that’s quite popular is Percy Jackson, I only read the first book–was confused how many books were in the series exactly, I think I finally got it (like right as I’m writing this).

This is another perfect one for Greek mythology lovers, there’s a bit more than just the gods–Half-blood camps–and it’s truly amazing!

Get A Life, Chloe Brown

A favorite of mine from last year and I can’t wait to reread it again and again!!! It’s basically about Chloe, a chronically ill computer geek who, after almost getting into an accident–but not quite, decides that she’s going to simply get a life!

–> Full review here.

I highly recommend this one for anyone looking for a light, funny, and comforting read!!

The Haunting Life of Huntliegh Parrish

This is a story about a young ghost hunter–Huntliegh Parrish. She’s lost her parents four years ago and is determined to get revenge on the person behind their murder, Josiah Morcant.

It’s a beautifully written story, I really liked when she was hunting them little ghosts! I mean, no pressure but she has to defeat them before Halloween or else her normal-ish life will be *poof* GoNe.

Perfect for fans of Supernatural and Ghost Whisperer!!


What about you?! Do you know any books with names in the title?? I would love to know!!

Deyae

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.