Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

Hello, welcome!! How have you been??

It’s been a while since the last time I did a book review and I’m very excited about today’s book. Hope you are too!!

Let’s get started!


The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Genre: historical fiction

Blurb:

Aging and reclusive Hollywood movie icon Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now?

Monique is not exactly on top of the world. Her husband has left her, and her professional life is going nowhere. Regardless of why Evelyn has selected her to write her biography, Monique is determined to use this opportunity to jumpstart her career.

Summoned to Evelyn’s luxurious apartment, Monique listens in fascination as the actress tells her story. From making her way to Los Angeles in the 1950s to her decision to leave show business in the ‘80s, and, of course, the seven husbands along the way, Evelyn unspools a tale of ruthless ambition, unexpected friendship, and a great forbidden love. Monique begins to feel a very real connection to the legendary star, but as Evelyn’s story near its conclusion, it becomes clear that her life intersects with Monique’s own in tragic and irreversible ways.

Goodreads

Review

This is a book that everyone seems to love. Whenever I go online, there’s at least one post singing praises of it. Naturally, I got curious. I really wanted to see for myself if it’s as good as they say it is. It is!

I think reading this while also listening to the audiobook really sets the mood. Be sure to try it out if you can!

The first thing I want to mention is how flawless the writing style is. From the first chapter, I knew this author would be a favorite of mine! I’m telling you, the writing is just immaculate. It hooks you in and never lets you go! The story runs seamlessly and beautifully from one event to the next, making you so immersed in the story you forget the real world.

Whatever you think this book is about, it’s more (unless you’ve read it or someone told you). I started it thinking it was a book about a celebrity talking about her life story, which is quite true but also not really what this book is about. It’s quite a lot to take in, to be honest. I was surprised every time I turn the page. I simply didn’t think it would be that raw.

In terms of characters, I’m truly in love with the way they were written/described and how much real they feel. Evelyn Hugo is a fierce character that I truly respect. The way she talked about her life and how she isn’t afraid to go after what she wants is something I aspire to achieve. I also liked reading about Monique, seeing her character progress throughout the story, and discovering her relationship to Evelyn Hugo‘s story. It was quite a blast!

Overall, I think this was an amazing book and I can’t wait to read more of Taylor Jenkins Reid‘s books!

Deyae

1 thought on “Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.